Who are the champions of the Copa Libertadores?

Who are the champions of the Copa Libertadores?

The Copa Libertadores is open to the league champions of CONMEBOL member associations; clubs finishing from second to fourth position in the stronger leagues of the region, such as the Brazilian league, are also included. Originally, only the champions of their respective national league could participate in the competition.

When was the last time Penarol won the Copa Libertadores?

Peñarol are third with five wins, their most recent of which was in 1987. Peñarol have lost the most finals; having lost on five occasions. Overall, 25 clubs have won the competition since its inception in 1960.

Who are still in the knock out stage of the Copa Libertadores?

Nine clubs are into the knock-out stage of the Copa Libertadores. But Boca Juniors and River Plate are among those that still need a result. Ravaged by the coronavirus, River Plate had no substitutes or a specialist keeper available on Wednesday — yet they still managed to win.

What does Sueno Libertador mean in sports journalism?

The Sueño Libertador is a promotional phrase used by sports journalism in the context of winning or attempting to win the Copa Libertadores. Thus, when a team gets eliminated from the competition, it is said that the team has awakened from the liberator dream.

Santos were the defending champions, but lost to Corinthians in the semifinals. São Paulo -based club Corinthians won the competition, with an undefeated campaign, after defeating six-time champion Boca Juniors in the finals. It is Corinthians’ first Libertadores title.

When did the 2012 Copa Libertadores start and end?

2012 Copa Libertadores. The 2012 Copa Libertadores de América (officially the 2012 Copa Santander Libertadores for sponsorship reasons) was the 53rd edition of the Copa Libertadores de América, South America’s premier international club football tournament organized by CONMEBOL. It ran from January 24 to July 4, 2012.

When did Corinthians play in the Club World Cup?

It is Corinthians’ first Libertadores title. By winning the competition, Corinthians won the right to play in the 2012 FIFA Club World Cup and the 2013 Recopa Sudamericana.