What is the purpose of European free trade Association?

What is the purpose of European free trade Association?

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) is an intergovernmental organisation set up for the promotion of free trade and economic integration to the benefit of its four Member States – Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland – and the benefit of their trading partners around the globe.

What is the objectives of EFTA?

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) was established by a Convention signed in Stockholm on 4 January 1960. The main objective of the Association was to liberalise trade among its Member States, and the Convention thus contained basic rules regarding free trade in goods and related disciplines.

Is India an EFTA country?

The EFTA States and India met for their 17th round of negotiations on 18 to 21 September 2017 in New Delhi, India. 13 rounds of negotiations were held until autumn 2013 before negotiations were put on hold. After talks were resumed in October 2016, four more rounds have taken place.

When was the European free trade Union established?

May 3, 1960
European Free Trade Association/Founded

Which of the following is currently a member of the European free trade Association?

The EFTA Member States are Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. The four EFTA States are competitive in several sectors vital to the global economy and score among the highest in the world in competitiveness, wealth creation per inhabitant, life expectancy and quality of life.

Who is the head of European free trade Association?

European Free Trade Association

European Free Trade Association show Native names:
Member states Iceland Liechtenstein Norway Switzerland
• Secretary General Henri Gétaz
• Council Chair Switzerland

What country are not in the EU?

The European countries that are not members of the EU:

  • Albania*
  • Andorra.
  • Armenia.
  • Azerbaijan.
  • Belarus.
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina**
  • Georgia.
  • Iceland.

Is USA part of EFTA?

According to Article 56 of the EFTA Convention, only states may become members of the EFTA.

Which of the following is currently a member of the European Free Trade Association?

Which countries does EU have free trade deals with?

Trade agreements in force

No State Relations
1. Akrotiri and Dhekelia
2. Albania Negotiating for EU accession
3. Algeria
4. Andorra Andorra–EU relations

Who are the members of the European Free Trade Association?

Menu block: EFTA Statistical Office Trade data About EFTA Overview The European Free Trade Association The EFTA States Legal documents Advisory Bodies Frequently asked questions Organisation EFTA Council Chairmanship The EFTA Secretariat Secretaries-General EFTA Staff Directory Activity Careers Events calendar Visit the EFTA Secretariat

When did Portugal leave the European Free Trade Association?

Portugal also left EFTA for the European Community in 1986. Liechtenstein joined the EFTA in 1991 (previously its interests had been represented by Switzerland). Austria, Sweden, and Finland joined the EU in 1995 and thus ceased to be EFTA members.

What are the EU agencies involved in EFTA?

EU Agencies EFTA National Experts Menu-block: Relations with UE seminar Global trade relations Trade relations All Partners Free Trade Agreements Ongoing Negotiations Joint Declarations on Cooperation Free Trade Map Trade Statistics

What are the EFTA objectives in FTAs and WTO?

EFTA Objectives in FTAs FTAs and the WTO Technical Assistance Customs and Origin PAPs notifications Trade and Sustainable Development in FTAs Activity Chronology of FTA processes Latest news Trade relations division Menu-block: Trade Relations Trade statistics Newsroom News & Press releases