How many holidays are there in the Indian calendar?

How many holidays are there in the Indian calendar?

In addition to the 14 compulsory holidays mentioned in paragraph 2, three holidays are chosen from the list below by the Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committee in the respective state capitals (if necessary, in consultation with Coordination Committees at other places in the State).

What are the mandatory holidays in India?

The three national public holidays in India, which are mandatory, are:

  • Republic Day (January 26th)
  • Independence Day (August 15th)
  • Gandhi Jayanti (October 2nd)

How many Indian national holidays are there in 2020?

India has three national holidays. The country celebrates Republic Day on 26 January , Independence Day on 15 August and Gandhi Jayanti on 02 October every year.

How many holidays are there in Diwali 2021?

Diwali 2021 Calendar of 5-Day Celebrations (2021 में दिवाली कब है)

Is Baisakhi a national holiday?

Unlike the Indian state of Punjab that recognizes the Vaisakhi Sikh festival as an official holiday, the festival is not an official holiday in Punjab or Sindh provinces of Pakistan as Sikhs constitute a very small number in terms of population.

Is it mandatory to holiday on 26th January?

National and Festival Holiday Act, which is applicable to all establishments in the country, irrespective of under which law it is formed it is mandatory to grant leave on following 3 days, i.e. 26th January (Republic Day), 15th August (Independence Day) and 2nd October (Gandhi Jayanti).

What are optional holidays?

Restricted holiday is also called an ‘Optional Holiday’ and it is not mandatory to close the entire office on that day. For example, Sri Ram Navami is only celebrated among Hindus, whereas Eid is celebrated among Muslims, so it’s up to the employees to take leave on restricted holiday.

Is 17 September a holiday?

The major holiday of the month is Ganesh Chaturthi (September 10). On September 17, banks will remain closed in Ranchi on account of Karma Puja. On September 21, banks will remain closed in Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram on account of Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Day.

Is Ganesh Chaturthi a national holiday?

Is Vinayaka Chaturthi a Public Holiday? Ganesh Chaturthi is not a public holiday across India. It is a regional holiday that is celebrated only in certain states like Maharashtra, Gujarat, Karnataka, and Andhra Pradesh.