What curriculum does NZ follow?

What curriculum does NZ follow?

the national curriculum
Curriculum and qualifications All state and state integrated schools follow the national curriculum: The New Zealand Curriculum (NZC) for English-medium schools and Te Marautanga o Aotearoa (TMoA) for Māori-medium schools.

What are the 8 curriculum areas?

The eight curriculum areas are:

  • Expressive arts.
  • Health and wellbeing.
  • Languages.
  • Mathematics.
  • Religious and moral education.
  • Sciences.
  • Social studies.
  • Technologies.

Who published the NZ curriculum?

the Ministry of Education
The NZ Curriculum (2007) is the result of one of the most comprehensive consultation processes undertaken by the Ministry of Education with more than 15,000 New Zealanders involved and more than 10,000 submissions received on the draft.

What is the name of the Maori curriculum?

Te Aho Arataki Marau mō te Ako i Te Reo Māori/Curriculum Guidelines for Teaching and Learning Te Reo Māori is intended to help every English-medium school1 in New Zealand to design and shape a curriculum that includes te reo Māori, alongside other learning areas, and acknowledges its value.

What is the Maori school curriculum?

Te Marautanga o Aotearoa is the curriculum for Māori immersion education. It aims to increase Māori achievement in all parts of the education system, particularly in literacy and numeracy, to increase the number of bilingual and multilingual students in New Zealand, and to strengthen kaupapa matauranga Māori.

What are the 5 basic types of curriculum?

The five basic types of curriculum are Traditional, Thematic, Programmed, Classical, and Technological. The most used curriculum can be found within these broader categories.

What are the five curriculum models?

Curriculum models have five areas they define:

  • Focus- subject or student. Where is the emphasis?
  • Approach – traditional or modern. What type of instruction will be used?
  • Content – topic based or content based. How will units or strands be written?
  • Process – formative or summative.
  • Structure – system, linear or cyclical.

What are E’s and O’s?

Experiences and outcomes (often called Es+Os) are a set of clear and concise statements about children’s learning and progression in each curriculum area. They are used to help plan learning and to assess progress.

What are the 4 levels of curriculum?

Curriculum Development Overview There are four major phases of the curriculum development process: Plan and Research, Curriculum Development, Professional Learning and Curriculum Development, and Implementation. The process is ongoing and cyclical.

What year is NZC Level 5?

Most Year 9 to 13 students will be learning between the curriculum levels 4 to 8. Your teenager may be at a different level for different learning areas, for example, they may be working at curriculum level 4 in mathematics and level 5 in technology.

Who wrote Te Aho Matua?

Kura Kaupapa Māori
Presented in the Māori language, Te Aho Matua has been written by the pioneers of Kura Kaupapa Māori as a foundation document for their kura.