What classification is a walrus?

What classification is a walrus?


What is the walrus Kingdom?


Which species is a member of the Odobenidae family?

Pinnipeds are aquatic members of the mammalian order Carnivora and comprise three monophyletic families: the Otariidae (eared seals or the fur seals and sea lions); the Odobenidae (walruses); and the Phocidae (true or earless seals).

How many different species of walrus are there?

Pacific walrus
Laptev walrusAtlantic walrus
Walrus/Lower classifications

Habitat and Ecology There are 2 populations of walrus: the Pacific walrus (Odobenus rosmarus divergens) and the Atlantic walrus (Odobenus rosmarus rosmarus).

What is a female walrus called?

Both the male (called a bull) and the female (called a cow) have tusks; however, those of the male are much larger. Males may weigh over a ton and reach a length of more than 10 feet.

What’s a good name for a walrus?

Nicknames, cool fonts, symbols and tags for Walrus – Waffle, Wally, Wilfred, Whiskers, Whilbert, Walli.

Is a walrus a pinniped?

Walrus are the largest pinniped. Seals, sea lions, and walruses belong to a group of marine mammals called pinnipeds, referring to their flippered feet. Seals (true seals or earless seals) have no external ear flaps.

What is the scientific name for a walrus?

Odobenus rosmarus
Walrus/Scientific names

Is walrus an aquatic mammal?

Walruses are terrestrial, marine mammals, meaning they can swim in the ocean and walk on land and sea ice.

Is pinniped an order?


What are walrus teeth called?

Walrus tusk ivory comes from two modified upper canines. It is also known as morse. The tusks of a Pacific walrus may attain a length of one meter. Walrus teeth are also commercially carved and traded. The average walrus tooth has a rounded, irregular peg shape and is approximately 5 cm in length.

Which is the only living species in the Odobenidae?

Jump to navigation Jump to search. Odobenidae is a family of pinnipeds. The only living species is the walrus. In the past, however, the group was much more diverse, and includes more than a dozen fossil genera.

Is the Pacific walrus part of the Odobenidae?

Modern walruses belong to a single species, within their own Family—Odobenidae. There are two recognized subspecies, the Pacific walrus (Odobenus rosmarus divergens) and the Atlantic walrus ( O. r. rosmarus ).

Which is the best description of bacterial taxonomy?

Bacterial taxonomy. Bacterial taxonomy is the taxonomy, i.e. the rank -based classification, of bacteria . In the scientific classification established by Carl Linnaeus, each species has to be assigned to a genus ( binary nomenclature ), which in turn is a lower level of a hierarchy of ranks (family, suborder, order, subclass, class,…

Are there intermediate minor rankings in bacterial taxonomy?

Intermediate minor rankings are not shown. Bacterial taxonomy is the taxonomy, i.e. the rank -based classification, of bacteria .