How many states recognize Kosovo?

How many states recognize Kosovo?

Thirty-nine States
Thirty-nine States have now recognised Kosovo as a State. The United Kingdom, United States, Turkey and France recognised Kosovo on 18 February 2008, the day after its declaration of independence.

How many UN member states Recognise Kosovo?

As of March 2020, Kosovo has received 115 diplomatic recognitions as an independent state, 15 of which have been withdrawn. 97 out of 193 United Nations members, 22 out of 27 EU members, 26 out of 30 NATO members, and 34 out of 57 Organization of Islamic Cooperation member state have recognized Kosovo.

How many countries have accepted Kosovo?

The Republic of Kosovo is recognized by 117 countries, thereby, fulfilling the initial aim of obtaining more than 100 recognitions.

Does the EU recognize Kosovo?

Kosovo, a former Serbian province, declared independence in 2008, which Serbia does not recognize. The United States and most EU countries have recognized Kosovo’s statehood while Serbia has the support of Russia and China.

Is Kosovo in the EU?

Kosovo, self-declared independent country in the Balkans region of Europe. Although the United States and most members of the European Union (EU) recognized Kosovo’s declaration of independence from Serbia in 2008, Serbia, Russia, and a significant number of other countries—including several EU members—did not.

Is Kosovo recognized by the EU?

As of May 2020, 22 of the 27 member states recognise the Republic of Kosovo as an independent state. The EU states that do not recognise Kosovo’s independence are Spain, Slovakia, Cyprus, Romania, and Greece. The European Parliament adopted a resolution on 8 July 2010 calling on all member states to recognise Kosovo.

Why is Kosovo not recognized by the UN?

Kosovo, a Serbian territory having a mainly Albanese population, declared its independence in 2008. Kosovo is still not a UN member State because two of its permanent members, China and Russia, used their veto right and declared the independence of this region illegal.

Is Kosovo part of the EU?

The Accession of Kosovo to the European Union (EU) is on the current agenda for future enlargement of the EU. Kosovo is recognized by the EU as a potential candidate for accession….Accession of Kosovo to the European Union.

Kosovan EU accession bid
Applied No
Approved No
Admitted No

Where is Kosovo in Europe?

The landlocked country of Kosovo lies in the heart of the Balkan Peninsula in Southeastern Europe. It borders the countries of Montenegro to the west, Serbia to the north and east, North Macedonia to the southeast and Albania to the southwest.

Is Kosovo an independent state?

Kosovo declared its independence from Serbia on February 17, 2008. The United States formally recognized Kosovo as a sovereign and independent state on February 18.

Where is Kosovo located in Europe?


Does Kosovo have states?

Kosovo is administratively subdivided into districts (Albanian: rajone, Serbian: окрузи / okruzi)….Administrative divisions of Kosovo.

Type Quantity
Districts of Kosovo 7 (since 2000)
Municipalities of Kosovo 38