What are the five stages of the family life cycle?

What are the five stages of the family life cycle?

The stages of the family life cycle are:

  • Independence.
  • Coupling or marriage.
  • Parenting: babies through adolescents.
  • Launching adult children.
  • Retirement or senior years.

What is Erikson’s 9th stage called?

despair of stage eight
According to Joan Erikson, in the ninth stage, the despair of stage eight is magnified by the experience of one’s deteriorating body and mind, which results in a lowering of self-esteem and confidence.

What are the stages of family life?

PIP: The 6 stages of the family life cycle are identified as: 1) family formation (marriage to first birth), 2) family expansion (first birth to last childbirth), 3) completion of expansion (child raising to departure of first child from home), 4) family contraction (through departure of last child from home), 5) …

What are the 8 stages of lifespan?

The 8 Stages of Human Development

  • Stage 1: Trust Versus Mistrust.
  • Stage 2: Autonomy Versus Shame and Doubt.
  • Stage 3: Initiative Versus Guilt.
  • Stage 4: Industry Versus Inferiority.
  • Stage 5: Identity Versus Confusion.
  • Stage 6: Intimacy Versus Isolation.
  • Stage 7: Generativity Versus Stagnation.
  • Stage 8: Integrity Versus Despair.

What are the six stages of the human life cycle?

The major stages of the human lifecycle include pregnancy, infancy, the toddler years, childhood, puberty, older adolescence, adulthood, middle age, and the senior years. Proper nutrition and exercise ensure health and wellness at each stage of the human lifecycle.

What are the stages of Erikson’s life span?

Erikson’s Lifespan Stages (Image Source: Brianne Thompson) Erikson divided the lifespan into eight stages. In each stage, we have a major psychosocial task to accomplish or crisis to overcome. Successful completion of each developmental task results in a sense of competence and a healthy personality.

How did Erikson describe the development of the self?

Erikson was a pioneer in considering that the development of the self is a lifelong process. He understood development as a succession of eight stages that manifest themselves throughout the human life cycle. At each stage, the individual has to: Meet their needs. Develop their capabilities.

What does Erik Erikson say about the stages of psychosocial development?

Erik Erikson’s Stages of Psychosocial Development. According to the theory, successful completion of each stage results in a healthy personality and the acquisition of basic virtues. Basic virtues are characteristic strengths which the ego can use to resolve subsequent crises.

When does generativity occur in Erik Erikson’s theory?

Generativity versus stagnation is the seventh of eight stages of Erik Erikson’s theory of psychosocial development. This stage takes place during during middle adulthood (ages 40 to 65 yrs). Generativity refers to “making your mark” on the world through creating or nurturing things that will outlast an individual.